Not a Member yet?

→ Join Today!

Looking for more ways to advance your knowledge and career?



Meet Our Volunteer Leaders

"I love what PIHRA provides to the HR community. Without the endless education, amazing networking, friendships, and opportunities to hone my leadership skills, I don't think I would have been as successful as an HR director. I feel honored to be leading this worthwhile organization and giving back a small portion of what I was given." Patti Sprinkle, PIHRA President

Engaging, elevating, and serving the California human resource community

The most powerful way to develop as a leader is to volunteer. PIHRA provides members with opportunities to hone their leadership skills through volunteerism in various functional areas at our 17 chapters and at the board of directors level. Our leaders gain visibility in the community and the skills necessary to advance their career.


PIHRA Board of Directors

Leading PIHRA into the future 



Gateway Cities, Inland Valley, Los Angeles




Tara Fournier, SPHR, SHRM-SCP
Chief People Officer
Enthusiast Gaming
 Susan Bowman, SPHR, SHRM-CP, PIHRA President-Elect Vice President

Susan Bowman, SPHR, PHRca, SHRM-SCP
Senior Human Resources Manager
Rite Aid

  Immediate Past President

Patti Sprinkle
Human Resources Director


Ray Cooke, PHR, SHRM-CP
Human Resources Consultant
L3 Technologies

 Kristina Hess Secretary

Kristina Hess
Risk Advisor & Insurance Broker
Lockton Companies

  Regional Representative Valley Region
Burbank/Glendale, Pasadena, Woodland Hills  

Karen Boublis, SPHR, SHRM-SCP
HR Business Solutionz 

 Lauren Sweeney Regional Representative Central Region
Gateway Cities, Inland Valley, Los Angeles

Lauren Sweeney
Vice President
Rise Up for You

Regional Representative Eastern Region
Coachella Valley, Riverside, Temecula Valley

Frank Miller, SPHR, SHRM-CCP
Sr. Employee Relations Advisor
Adventist Health

  Regional Representative Northern Region
Antelope Valley, Santa Clarita, Ventura County

Jeannette Cook, Ph.D.
Director, Talent Management
Learn4Life Network

Jenny Roney, MPA, SPHR, IPMA-CP   
Regional Representative Southern Region
North OC, San Diego Community, South OC 

Ailene Dewar, aPHR
Vice President of Sales, California
Engage PEO 

Glenda (Amena) Tariq, SHRM-CP  Regional Representative Western Region
Long Beach, South Bay, West Los Angeles  

Glenda (Amena) Tariq, SHRM-CP
HR Manager
Passport to Learning


2023 Committee Chairs

Fostering PIHRA’s growth & development

 Matthew Paletz Membership

Matthew Paletz
Lockton Companies

 Baskaran Ambalavanan Programs

Baskaran Ambalavanan, SPHR, PHRca, GPHR, SHRM-SCP
Principal Consultant 
Hila Solutions, LLC

Dana Mayhew  Government Advocacy Team

Dana Mayhew, MPA, PHRca, SPHR, SHRM-SCP
TDC Consults

Christina Gonzalez-Hicks Emerging Leaders

Christina Gonzalez-Hicks, MBA, SPHR
Human Resource Plus

  College Relations



2023 Chapter & Community Chairs

Building robust local HR communities

Our Chapter Chairs each lead their chapter’s board of directors, serving HR professionals all over Southern California with innovative programming, community resources, and hybrid social events.

 Antelope Valley Chair

Wandala Johnson, SHRM-CP
Director of Human Resources
Careismatic Brands, Inc.

Armine Muradyan   Burbank/Glendale Chair

Armine Muradyan, MBA-HRM, CUHRcp, PHRca, HRSM
Vice President, Human Resources
Los Angeles Federal Credit Union

Jason Press  Coachella Valley Chair

Jason Press
Cake and Ice Cream Inc.

Rob Boldt  Gateway Cities Chair

Rob Boldt
Executive Vice President, Employee Benefits

Carol Stevenson  Inland Valley Chair

Carol Stevenson

Oscar Velasco  Long Beach Chair

Oscar Velasco
Business Development Specialist 
LBS Financial Credit Union

Robert Hawkes, CEBS, SHRM-SCP  Los Angeles Chair

Robert Hawkes, CEBS, SHRM-SCP
Executive Vice President, Employee Benefits

Ron Herrera  North OC Chair

Ron Herrera, PHR, SHRM-CP 
Vice President, Employee Benefits Consulting

Rudy Ramirez  Pasadena Chair

Rudy Ramirez
Area Vice President 

Merrell Botello  Riverside Chair

Merrell Botello
Account Executive
Burnham Benefits Insurance Services, Inc.

   Santa Clarita Chair



Kristina Hess San Diego Community


Kristina Hess
Team Leader
Lockton Insurance Brokers


Edgar Garcia-Mora  South Bay Chair

Edgar Garcia-Mora
Associate Vice President, Employee Benefits

Liz Flores, HRM, WCCP, CRTO  South OC Chair

Liz Flores, HRM, WCCP, CRTO
Human Resources Executive

Jacquelyn Thorp  Temecula Valley Chair 

Jacquelyn Thorp, PHRca, SPHR, SHR
Train Me Today

 Ventura County Chair

Cheryl Johnston, SPHR, SHRM-SCP
HR Manager
Haas Automation, Inc.

Patrick Guthrie  West Los Angeles Chair

Patrick Guthrie
Employee Benefits Broker

Alison Norrup  Woodland Hills Chair

Alison Norrup, SPHR, SHRM-SCP
Senior Human Resources Business Partner
Health Net/Centene Corporation



PIHRA Foundation

Serving Southern California Workforce Readiness

The PIHRA Foundation provides scholarship and educational opportunities for emerging HR professionals and HR professionals in transition. Learn more about the PIHRA Foundation at pihra.org/foundation


Ed Johnson, SPHR President

Ed Johnson, SPHR
Human Capital Strategies, LLC


Running for a Board Position

As a current, voting member of PIHRA, you have the benefit of running for a leadership position on the PIHRA Board of Directors or on a PIHRA Chapter Board. The elected positions range from one – two year commitments. There are also standing committee chair positions on the PIHRA Board of Directors. These are appointed positions and lead the following areas for the association: Professional Development, Membership Development, Organizational Continuity, Legislative Affairs, College Relations and Emerging Leaders.

To find out more about the annual election process, including contact information for the nominations committee, please visit the PIHRA Volunteer page.

We look forward to your contribution in helping take PIHRA to its next stage of development.

“PIHRA has been instrumental in my career. From the networking to the worthwhile program offerings, and the recertification credits to the opportunities to give back – I have thoroughly enjoyed my time and truly seen the value time & time again.”

– Liz Consuegra, SPHR, PHRca, SHRM-SCP, Vice President of Field Human Resources (Petco, Southern CA)


PIHRA Past Presidents

Volunteers are seldom paid; not because they are worthless, but because they are PRICELESS!


2017 – 2020 Patti Sprinkle 1978  Neil Christensen
2015 – 2016 Marilyn Monahan, Esq. 1977  Bernice Hird
2013 – 2014 Wayne Munyer, PHR, SHRM-CP 1976 J. William Oldenkamp
2011 – 2012 Richard Propster, SPHR-CA 1975 Mary Lou Pyle
2009 – 2010 Jenny Roney, SPHR 1974 Stanley Croonquist, Jr.
2007 – 2008 Dan Roleder, SPHR 1973 William Stamper
2005 – 2006 Mark Gross 1972 H. Walter Samson
2004 Terry Kolasa 1971 Gerald Townsend
2003 Pamela Winters, SPHR 1970 Grant Kenyon
2002 Mike Deblieux, SPHR 1969 William Foster
2001 Gregory Sims, SPHR 1968 David English
2000 Nancy Mellinger, SPHR 1967 John Haynes
1999 Dennis Smith 1966 Roy Cheney, Jr.
1998 Sandra Deming, SPHR 1965 Gordon Madden
1997 Philip Barquer, SPHR 1964 Herbert Sutton
1996 Anita Gorino, SPHR 1963 William Rule
1994 – 1995 William Groenekamp 1962 Robert Vanderlip
1993 Thomas Christy 1961 Edmund Briggs
1992 Jeanette Parr, SPHR 1960 Carl Kaiser
1991 Jim Rockett, PhD 1959 William Lee, PHR
1990 Earnest Preacely 1958 Paul Kaponya, PE
1989 Roger Sommer, SPHR 1956-1957 Robert Armstrong
1988 Alan Dias 1955 John McLean
1987 Gilbert Honeycutt 1954 Gerald Bradley
1986 Wanda Lee, SPHR 1953 Bonar Dyer
1985 Jon Weakly 1952 Lawrence Cooper
1984 A. William Yochum 1951 Roy Madsen
1983 Wayne Strong 1949-1950 Paul Bell
1982 Ardith Gillis, SPHR 1948 Lewis Peck
1981 Robert Wenzel, Esq. 1947 Gerald Honey
1980 James Lacy 1946 Eugene Hassett
1979 Sylvia Landa 1945 A.W. Abrahamsen